by Monica Percival



2012 World Agility Open Championships

By Monica Percival, Photo courtesy Ian Watts Photography

The 2012 World Agility Open, which was sponsored by Royal Canin, was held on 18-20 May, 2012 in Belgium at the Equestrian Centre De Warre. Over 300 competitors from 20 different countries traveled to the event to compete under judges Lee Gibson of England, Scott Chamberlain of the USA, and Thomas Ammitzbøll of Denmark. Last year's event had 18 countries and over 200 dogs and handlers competing, so the WAO saw substantial growth in 2012.

Competitors vied for four championship titles:

  • Individual Agility Biathlon
  • Individual Agility Pentathlon
  • Individual Agility Games
  • Team Agility Pentathlon

The event, which was webcast by www.agilityvision.com, was very competitive. The USA team won the most medals, making a total of 28 medals earned over the past two WAO events. They're followed by England with 22 medals. Canada and Wales are tied with 11 medals for each country.

WAO organizers announced that the 2013 event will take place in Spain at the El Asturcón equestrian center in Oviedo. For more information on next year's event, go to the WAO website.

For courses and results from the 2012 event, click here. 

Congratulations to the winners!